View Full Version : Some advice needed
Donna Kempster
28-Feb-2007, 03:08 PM
Hi all
I have a strange issue that I thought you may have some advice or suggestions on.
Our site has been 'cloned' by someone else (although it is about 2 weeks ago when we were trialling V8 so its half the sample website ...) It doesn't work - yet - i.e. you can't put anything in the basket but they may well change this soon. I assume they are trying to de fraud people out of the card details etc??
I have found which co. hosts their site and I have emailed them - no other way to go about it. But I don't know how else to stop them??
They come up well on all our search terms - and above us as our V8 is only just live (Tuesday) and I don't want people to think this is us and not click on our true site.
Has anyone else dealt with this or knows what I should do.
Many thanks in advance
Donna
leehack
28-Feb-2007, 03:17 PM
I'd report it to Google as a first step, as long as you are sure they are up to something. Whats the url, have you seen who its registered to?
Donna Kempster
28-Feb-2007, 03:25 PM
http://barlc09.users.netlink.co.uk/dhivya/acatalog/Win_Green_Playhouses.html
This is one of the URL's - how do I find out who it is registered too?
D
jont
28-Feb-2007, 03:34 PM
On a page higher up there is a phone number 01298 213400 but looks like this is another test web page.
Entering netlink . co . uk brings up a CLARA homepage so may be worth contacting them.
On the bright side they are not hotlinking your images
leehack
28-Feb-2007, 03:40 PM
You can do a domain lookup on Nominet.
jont
28-Feb-2007, 03:51 PM
May be of use....
"Claranet have developed an integrated solution offering connectivity with applications in a virtual learning environment. Netlink, from Claranet, the largest independent pan-European IP solution provider is a complete end-to-end education solution encompassing everything from the network to the virtual learning environment (VLE) and content. Netlink enables teachers, parents and learning communities to interact in a secure virtual learning environment through a computer from any location at any time. The solution features a dynamic, personalised web portal, email, video-conferencing capability, content and virus scanning and web enabled data storage for schoolwork."
RuralWeb
28-Feb-2007, 04:07 PM
You could contact Actinic and see if they can track down who bought the software.
leehack
28-Feb-2007, 04:10 PM
Woohoo Mal's back, tell me you didn't do a 60 mile cycle in this grumpy weather.
RuralWeb
28-Feb-2007, 04:20 PM
tell me you didn't do a 60 mile cycle in this grumpy weather Only managed 40 today - a bit too wet and windy!!
leehack
28-Feb-2007, 04:23 PM
It's bloody grim down here too, i'd most certainly have some more trees down in the garden if they hadn't been blown down previously. Keep waiting for the roof to take off!
jont
28-Feb-2007, 04:29 PM
i'd most certainly have some more trees down in the garden if they hadn't been blown down previously.
... so the Goat pointed chainsaw will not be making another outing :(
leehack
28-Feb-2007, 04:33 PM
I blunted it on the soil around one of the stumps, it's been retired gracefully until i need to chop up some railway sleepers later on this year. I do crack it up in the garage from time to time, close my eyes and it takes me back 20 years to having a 80cc 2-stroke riding away from the police on the local park.
jont
28-Feb-2007, 04:35 PM
Set your mobile to record and you could have a top ten hit a la Crazy Frog
leehack
28-Feb-2007, 04:39 PM
LOL funny you should say that, there is a video of me choppping one of them down on you tube. My mate thought it was far funnier to film me chopping trees than help me. Unfortunately he also captured me jumping up and down in the skip to try and create some room, that involved a rather "ungymnastic" lack of balance and a few expletives. Damn that old barbecue hiding under the tree branches.
Donna Kempster
28-Feb-2007, 08:31 PM
Entering netlink . co . uk brings up a CLARA homepage so may be worth contacting them.
Have already emailed clara's abuse@clara email address you can't do it over the phone for some unknown reason.
You can do a domain lookup on Nominet. I tried that after you suggested trying to find them but nominet says not possible to find out as not a true domain name. Do you know how to report it to Google?
You could contact Actinic and see if they can track down who bought the software. I'll try this and see what they say. I'll post back if I find out anything that is interesting.
Thanks for all your suggestions. Donna
leehack
28-Feb-2007, 09:22 PM
I tried that after you suggested trying to find them but nominet says not possible to find out as not a true domain name. Do you know how to report it to Google?
You didn't search on the domain name correctly, domain name is the bit before the .co.uk or the .com etc. I found it straight away and its a company in London. They have an owning company and also one based in America, that this company sits underneath.
Big_Dave
28-Feb-2007, 09:59 PM
I had a similar problem and posted about it some time ago. Google wouldn't remove the cloned / stolen site unless I faxed them with details, wrote them a letter with proof and hired a solicitor and gave Google his details (hopeless). In other words I felt fobbed off.
Nominet and everybody else wouldn't take any action as they do not get involved unless any actual fraud committed or illegal adult content is being spewed out.
After many emails and telephone calls I had to give up.
I wonder if there is any way to stop your site being cloned/copied?
pinbrook
01-Mar-2007, 07:00 AM
http://barlc09.users.netlink.co.uk/d...layhouses.html
this is actinic webspace used for tests etc, notice barlc does barlingchris mean anything?
did you send actinic a snapshot for any reason?
was the support person dhivya?
email actinic and ask them to clear their test space.
if actinic support read this maybe you could add a robot.txt to this webspace to stop it being indexed as i've also had a client test snapshot indexed much to the confusion of the client as the barlc space was taking orders!
I wonder if there is any way to stop your site being cloned/copied? see a thread from a while ago started by Budgetbumps for more on this
TraceyG
01-Mar-2007, 08:01 AM
Hi,
This is our testing space and I've asked Dhivya to remove the site from her space which was uploaded a while ago for a support issue. I'm sorry for the confusion and I'll see about getting a robots.txt file uploaded to that server so that this doesn't happen again.
chris ashdown
01-Mar-2007, 09:18 AM
Good one Jo, well done, Our own new Mrs Marples
Donna Kempster
01-Mar-2007, 01:23 PM
Thanks Jo, we were getting really worried - amazing what things you can conjure up with very little knowledge and lots of imagination!
Donna:o
pinbrook
01-Mar-2007, 01:45 PM
amazing what things you can conjure up with very little knowledge and lots of imagination!
yes i did think your imagination was over active :eek: :eek:
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.