PDA

View Full Version : Dodgy Mailing List Subscriptions


jont
10-Jun-2008, 09:39 AM
I am experiencing an above number of requests to join our mailing list - principally from Russian and Chinese addresses. The subscribe list is outside Actinic.

Just wondering if there is any gossip on the net about current exploits for mailing software etc in people trying to harvest email addresses, server attacks etc?

pinbrook
10-Jun-2008, 10:02 AM
do you know if they are manual signups or bots?

cos you can always put captcha on the form

but in general mailing lists need quite alot of management and filtering, maybe mailing list software developerswill start to add chinese and cryllic filters

jont
10-Jun-2008, 10:10 AM
They look like manual signups. I always filter them so not really an issue just more out of interest if any known attacks on the go at the moment.

pinbrook
10-Jun-2008, 10:16 AM
I'm not aware of any real scams at the mo, but it makes sense to try to target a mailing list rather than individual email addresses

jont
10-Jun-2008, 10:26 AM
try to target a mailing list rather than individual email addresses

That is what I am thinking. Oh well... time to nail down the shutters again :rolleyes:

jont
01-Jul-2008, 03:55 PM
Keep getting various emails supposedly from Dan1oo@narod.ru

Anybody else getting these?

TraceyHand
01-Jul-2008, 04:04 PM
I get this address (and similar ones) a LOT through my contact form. At least once a day

Interestingly, I only get it on the site with a modified contact form (extra fields added)

jont
01-Jul-2008, 04:19 PM
I am unable to work out if Dan1oo@narod.ru is interested in Viagra or Rolex watches or just wants to be subscribed to a mailing list.

pinbrook
01-Jul-2008, 04:23 PM
I get this address (and similar ones) a LOT through my contact form. At least once a daystick captcha on your form

Duncan Rounding
01-Jul-2008, 04:37 PM
... Dan1oo@narod.ru is interested in Viagra or Rolex watches ...

I get the same address through from the standard v9 contact form - a few each day - started about a month ago.

TraceyHand
01-Jul-2008, 05:13 PM
stick captcha on your form

it's on my to-do list..honest, miss ;)

TraceyHand
01-Jul-2008, 05:13 PM
I get the same address through from the standard v9 contact form - a few each day - started about a month ago.

mine only started after I upgraded to V9. Didn't get any with V8 at all.
Could be a coincidence, of course

Jan
01-Jul-2008, 05:22 PM
Keep getting various emails supposedly from Dan1oo@narod.ru

Anybody else getting these?He is my best friend at the moment, his emails are a little repetitive.

Regards,

chris ashdown
02-Jul-2008, 10:21 AM
Had strange one last two days, pretending to be from HMRC telling me I was entitled to a refund of £188.something and click on link to get a claim form

Could be nasty if they get your HMRC details

kathynewman
02-Jul-2008, 12:20 PM
Had strange one last two days, pretending to be from HMRC telling me I was entitled to a refund of £188.something and click on link to get a claim form

Could be nasty if they get your HMRC details

I have had at least 6 of those now - just wish it were true!

jont
02-Jul-2008, 01:13 PM
I have had at least 6 of those now - just wish it were true!

It is true ... you can also use www.hmrc.nigerianscam.com/refund.html

pinbrook
02-Jul-2008, 01:21 PM
this is when it is useful to designate different email addresses for different institutions. then you can always check the address used to send emails to - to confirm if a potential email is dodgy.

for example for all correspondance between your site and paypal use paypal@yourdomain, for protx use protx@yourdomain and so on.

this way you know if you get an email supposedly from paypal addressed to sales@yourdomain then its a scam

use this technique for online shopping too, then you can close accounts that get spammed